Paleo Cookies for a Rainy Day

Rainy days have always proved to be perfect for staying indoors and experimenting on new recipes. There aren’t beautiful rays of sunshine beckoning me to come outside and all those errands can hold off another day, right? At least that’s what I tell myself until I open my fridge and moths flutter past my growling stomach. 

Today was one of those days where I woke up and made no effort of putting on presentable clothes. Instead, I had my cup of morning tea and suddenly craved something sweet, but what? I flipped through the pages of my paleo cook books until I found a recipe for blue berry crumb cake. Not wanting to put in the effort of making a cake, I settled for my own version of almond flour cookies. I’ve never really made paleo cookies, but I have tried to make my mom’s chocolate chip cookies before I switched to being paleo. My baking was never as good as hers. 

My first attempt had good intentions and gave me an idea of how the ingredients were going to work together. Here’s the list: 

1 1/2 cups almond flour

1/2 tablespoon raw cacao powder

3 tablespoons flax seed meal (blended or food processed flax seeds)

1/4 cup shaved coconut

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking powder 

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 avocado

1/2 tablespoon maple syrup

1 teaspoon honey

I, in short, combined the dry ingredients, mashed in the avocado until it was evenly blended, and finally added the sweeteners. I had preheated the oven to 400 degrees fahrenheit and formed the dough into balls that were about an inch in diameter, then let them bake until golden (approximately 15 minutes).

They were… alright. Good for the trail or if you’re wanting to have a snack that wasn’t too sweet and didn’t crumble easily, but I wanted something more cookie like. Which led me to my second recipe: 

1 1/2 cups almond flour 

1 tablespoon raw cacao powder 

1/4 cup flax seed meal

1/4 cup shaved coconut 

1 teaspoon cinnamon 

1/2 teaspoon baking powder 

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3 tablespoons melted coconut oil

1 tablespoon avocado oil

1 tablespoon maple syrup

I threw the flax seeds and shaved coconut into a blender and blended on high for 15 seconds, then added them into a bowl with the other dry ingredients. After mixing them together with a fork, I added the oils and syrup and mixed those until they were even. I formed them into the slightly larger balls while the oven preheated to only 375 degrees fahrenheit. 15 minutes in the oven and out they came!

They smelled significantly better and when I tasted them, there was no comparison. In the first recipe, I didn’t care for how the raw avocado took away the sweetness of the syrup and honey, so I decided to nix it. I’ve baked and cooked with coconut oil in the past and knew it added sweetness to the dish, so I went with that instead, but still wanted the fatty and buttery flavor of the avocado. At the last minute I decided to add more cacao powder and Shazam! They were wonderful.

My only concern with the second recipe is that they’re a lot more dry and crumbly than the first. If that’s a no go for some people, I highly recommend substituting the melted coconut oil for one egg. That way the cookies with have more hold and squish. 

Please let me know if you try these recipes, because I’m curious to see what you think! Don’t be afraid to experiment! You may make mistakes, but the trick is to keep trying. Happy baking everyone!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

